Skip to content

I Shall Wear Midnight – Terry Pratchett

15/01/2012
I Shall Wear Midnight

I’ve lost count of the number of books Terry Pratchett has set in his Discworld, this is the fourth book following Tiffany Aching and this almost sixteen Tiffany is very different from her eight year old self in Wee Free Men. She has grown up over the last few books but now she finally becomes a young women as she truly finds her place in her world.

Pratchett has done remarkable job with Tiffany, I’m not sure many old(er) male authors could have written a young girl so convincingly, but i have always enjoyed Pratchett’s work and he has a talent for getting at what really makes people (or witches) tick. This book seems to round off Tiffany’s story and follows on brilliantly from The Wintersmith with its hint of fairytale lyricism in the prose.

Pratchett’s Discworld characters often pop in and out of each other’s books (Granny Weatherwax and Nanny Ogg have a cameo in this one) so we may see Tiffany again but if not it’s well worth reading her books in order to receive the full benefit of her story. Pratchett himself identifies the strength of the story in these books and these cornerstone storylines with a touch of magic and a little matter of fact common sense create a wonderful modern fairytale.

If you are already a fan of the Discworld read these books, they are marketed for younger readers and would be a great place for them to start their exploration of the Discworld but they are still just good as the rest of his work and will no doubt be loved by older readers too.

From → Fantasy

4 Comments
  1. I love Terry Pratchett, but I have to admit that I’m not a fan of Tiffany Aching. Her books just seem to drag and they’re not funny. I’ve read this one and I liked the appearance of the other witches (I remember Agnes Nitt making a comment that I particularly liked, I think?) but I won’t be in a hurry to read it again.

    • Hi Hannah,
      Thanks for your comment, you’re my first! I thought Tiffany improved in Wintersmith and I Shall Wear Midnight, but her first two books were it bit slow (especially a Hat Full of Sky) compared to Pratchett’s usual style. Although Wee Free Men has one of my favourite ever jokes, about Horace the blue cheese who hums a bit:)

      • I’m your first? Oh wow, that’s so great! I’m oddly proud, haha! I still know who my first commenter was and it was ten months ago now :)

        I remember Horace, I liked him too. I just read Good Omens though and I still think that’s the best thing he (and Neil Gaiman) have ever written.

      • I saw your review for Good Omens, it should be compulsory reading Pratchett & Gaiman complement each other prefectly.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

